top of page

Until we meet again, NYC~

Well guys, we made it to the last post. I have a few last things to cover, and then I am officially done with my city adventure.

My last day at Kleinfeld was so bitter sweet. Saying goodbye to the women that became my family for 10 weeks was beyond hard for me. I am terrible with goodbyes as is. From the interns and staff, to the management, I said my goodbyes to everyone. My biggest goodbye was to Joan, (the woman that hired me). Without her, this opportunity wouldn't be possible. She gave me a chance, she believed in me, and she became someone who changed my life forever. From her sweet nature, to her caring personality, she truly will always have a special place in my heart.

My favorite consultant, Gabby, walked me out to the front door when I was ready to leave. I cried all the way out the door. While walking home, I put down my phone, took out my headphones and just soaked in the walk home. The regular faces I recognize on my way home, the cars, the noise, and the city feel. It made me happy. I walked home with a smile on my face the entire way home. I'm trying not crying because it's over, I'm trying to smile because it happened.

The hardest goodbye, by far, was that of my friend Kathryn form Kansas. Who would have thought that a walking buddy home from the intern sushi dinner would start such an amazing friendship. I honestly couldn't have done this summer without her. I've never met someone so willing to explore at the drop of a hat. We hit the ground running everyday we had off. My heart is actually sad to be leaving her. She became like a sister to me. However, our story isn't over. Kathryn is planning to move to NYC post grad, and Ohio is a lot closer to NY than Kansas. She is a beautiful person inside and out, and I am blessed that I found someone to embrace this experience with. Ohio loves you, Kansas. You changed my life.

Kleinfeld taught me so much. Not only about bridal, but about myself. I learned that I am capable of adapting quickly to a foreign place. I learned I am capable of meeting and growing close to new faces and locations. I learned I am more than willing to try new things, (like food, and means of transportation). I really underestimated myself. I knew I could do it, I just didn't think it would be as easy as it was. I grew as a person, independently without my family, friends or boyfriend. When all of my comfort was left in Ohio/Massachusetts, I was able to adapt and overcome. There is something very rewarding in that. When I decided to go away to Kent for school, I never truly felt like I was "alone" or "away from home". My grandparents are 40 minutes up the road, and my parents are only 2 hours away. This is by far the first time in my life that I felt like I was truly away from home. For the first time in my life, I actually felt like a "Big Girl".

I also learned from my experience that mental illness is a real thing. So many homeless individuals struggle on the daily with this disease. We, as a human race, need to show more compassion to these people instead of labeling them as "crazy". On my commute to and from work, I pass a section of homeless people who are in the same spot day in and day out. They aren't ones that, "abuse the system" considering they don't even have a mailbox to receive a check. They are truly homeless. Many of them talk to themselves like there is someone sitting right next to them. Others drink alcohol as early as 8:30am as I walk to work. Mental illness is a real thing. New York has opened my eyes to that. I want to educate others about how real it is. When you see someone day in and day out talking to thin air, it makes you humbled and thankful. Even if helping the homeless isn't your thing in terms of donating money, always...ALWAYS treat them with respect and dignity, as many people do not. You have no idea their stories, addictions, trauma and sadness. Everyone deserves to be loved and treated with respect, whether you have a roof over your head or not. I gave the rest of my food in my apartment to a homeless woman named Deborah that I see everyday. She was thankful and I was humbled. Doesn't get much more rewarding than that. I don't do it for gratification, I do it because it's the RIGHT thing to do, and that's what my Mom always taught and continues to teach me.

To anyone thinking of studying abroad, even if it isn't out of the country....one piece of advice: DO IT!! DO IT AND DON'T LOOK BACK. And if you're debating traveling? DO IT. Get out there and do everything you possibly can. I learned SO MUCH during these past 2 months. I was nervous I wouldn't adapt to the fast pace city life. However, you honestly do. This world is a scary place. I get that. However, we cannot live our lives in fear. Anything can happen anywhere, seriously. Do not let fear control your life. Go see the world. The world has so much to offer us. We just have to be willing to go find it. Don't let your anxieties hold you back. Trust me, I'm the queen of it. However, this life isn't promised. Tomorrow isn't promised. I don't want to look back on my life and wish I did things differently. I never want to reflect and think, "You should have taken that chance". Home will always be there. Home will always be home. However, ignite the fire to go exploring either by yourself, or with the ones you love. You won't regret, "going for it".

Now, I have to say my thank yous. First off, this opportunity wouldn't be possible without my parents, Lynn and Brad. Your push for me to follow my dreams and explore the world is inspiring and gratifying. I am so blessed I have parents who support me and my opportunities. Without hesitation, they wanted to me take this internship. Thank you , Mom for finding me a place to live and moving me here. Your planning was much appreciated. Also, thank you for coming to visit me. You're my Best Friend and I love you so much. I can't wait to see you! To my Dad (obviously Brad), thank you for financially helping me and always making sure I was comfortable and okay. Seriously, this would not have been possible without my amazing parents. Thank you for supporting me on this journey. And to my brothers, Oliver and Gannon, (Yes, the dog came first). Love you two, too :)

To my boyfriend John, thank you for supporting me from the Cape. Your constant support never went unnoticed. Our relationship didn't suffer one bit by being apart, and we only got stronger as a couple. We individually grew, and I'm just as proud of you as your are of me for following our dreams. I am blessed we were able to better ourselves, all the while staying together and growing as a unit. I love you, June.

To my Grandparents and Uncle for their constant support and calls, thank you. Bubby, thank you for the goodie bags and care packages. I miss you guys constantly. Can't wait to be back at Kent so I'm close to you again.

Next, a HUGE thank you to my boyfriend's Mom, Suzanne. Thank you for taking care of my sweet baby girl this summer. Ellie is my everything, and John and I are blessed you watched her this summer for us. Thank you for always playing with her and making her feel right at home. Counting down the days until I see her and you. My little four legged girl was in the best hands. Seriously, thank you!

Finally, I want to thank YOU for reading this blog. It was so much fun writing about my experiences with all of you. I am blessed so many of you wanted to come along with me this summer. The love and support I have received all throughout the summer has been overwhelming and humbling. From your encouraging words, to your positive comments, it never went unnoticed. I got so much joy out of doing this. Thank you for reading, for believing in me, and for supporting me all along the way. I am really going to miss this blog. It was such a great way to document my days, and share my adventures with the people I love most.

In all, I interned at Kleinfeld Bridal, I met Pnina Tornai, Tony Ward, Reem Acra, and Randy, I navigated the subway system, I lived alone in an apartment in NYC, I ate overpriced salads on the weekly, I hand selected dresses for brides from all over the world, I grew close to some of the nicest bridal consultants in the business, I went to DC and Cape Cod, I met Kid the Wiz on the subway, I watched wild seals in the ocean, I rode a bike for the first time in years, I made a new best friend, I got filmed for TLC, I went to Brooklyn, Soho, Chelsea and Manhattan, I started a blog, I tanned at the Coney Island Beach, I saw several Broadway shows, I showed my Mom and Boyfriend the city I have grown to love, and lastly, I had the summer of a lifetime. Thank you Kleinfeld for making me the happiest girl. I had the most amazing summer all thanks to your company. Until next time, NYC. You will be missed.

XOXOX

SC


bottom of page