top of page

John Comes to Visit!!

T-minus 3... THREE days until my last day at Kleinfeld!! WHERE HAS THE SUMMER GONE?! And on top of that, 6 days until I venture home!! I wish I could tell you guys I have some amazing plans for my final days in the city, (I make it sound like I'm dying) but with the sample sale coming up, I work the rest of my time here!! Today, I volunteered my day off for a few hours to help make goodie bags for the event. The sample sale is a SUPER big event in which Kleinfeld sells the samples that we have in the store that the brides try on! It is always a huge success, and I'm glad I get to be a part of it this year.

First, I have to start by shouting out my favorite Porter family! On Wednesday, Sadie and Nicole took me to a place called, "The Sugar Factory". There, I enjoyed a goblet....yes a goblet...mixed drink which had dry ice to boot and gummy worms. It was on my bucket list to try. It's called, "The White Gummy Bear". The restaurant is known for its amazing sugar drinks, sugar meals, and sugar everything!! Celebrities are a huge fan of this place! I encourage you to all look at the menu online! There is also something on the menu that costs $1000, and it is all candy covered in GOLD!! Gummy bears, fondu, you name it. It's a literal platter of chocolate gold. Though we didn't get that, we got some amazing food, (I would be the one to get a salad at the SUGAR factory). Great conversion and company! Love to the Porters!! :)

OH, BEFORE I FORGET, JIMMY FALLON WAS AMAZING!!! His monologue rehearsal was fantastic, his studio was spectacular, and I enjoy my entire time there! No pictures though, so I don't have any to show you. They were SUPER strict, so I wasn't allow to even have my phone out, let alone take any. He was so nice, and really appreciated having us there to laugh to see which jokes work and which to scrap.

On Thursday, JOHN BIRKBECK CAME TO NYC!!!! Waiting for his train to arrive in Grand Central Station was soooooo exciting! My heart was pounding! I still get those butterflies as I did almost 3 years ago when I see him! I still recall the white, Jeep Patriot pulling up to Eastway and picking freshman me up. That's how I felt once again waiting for the train! When I saw him, time stood still. I ran up to him and threw my arms around him. It was seriously a magical reunion.

After we got back to my place and checked him him, we headed out to meet another amazing crew for dinner, The Stotzer Family! We went to an amazing little Italian place, and I hands down had the best buffalo mozzarella of my life! It was so nice catching up with the girls that I babysat the past 2 summers! They, (and John & Shelly) also got a behind the scenes look at Kleinfeld! The girls loved it! I was so happy to show them around the store, and the girls were in total awe of the dresses! Plus, they got to see Randy:) I want to thank them for a terrific evening, and spending time with John and I. We love you guys so much!!

The next days to follow were a whirlwind. I have been waiting all summer to show John all these places I've been visiting! By storm, we hit the city. Rain didn't slow us down either! Where do I even start? I'm going to go out of order because we did so much! My favorite part was when we went to Central Park and walked around. I have been before, and I was overwhelmed by the amount of happy couples walking around, holding hands under the beautiful landscape. This weekend, that was me:) It was picture perfect. We got some amazing pictures at the fountain by the row boats. We also went to Times Square, walked the High Line, Chelsea Market, The Freedom Tower, shopped and walked 5th ave (we went into THE NY Tiffany & Co and got my jewelry cleaned, and were also served coffee and lemonade on a silver tray from a man that looked like James Bond) walked the Hudson River, and ate at Serendipity where I made reservations. If you don't remember, that is the famous restaurant where they serve the frozen hot chocolates! Oh, we also rode the Staten Island Ferry, and John got to experience the city at night, as well as see Lady Liberty herself. John kept saying, "I can't believe we are in NYC together." It was awesome watching him react to everything, like I once did when I first got here. We both agreed he needed more time here. It was so sad watching him get on that train. Of course I cried! You have to know me by now :)

We also had the pleasure of meeting John's cousins in Brooklyn for dinner!! It was great catching up with them, and the pizza place we ate at was actually beyond perfect. It was very rugged, and the pizza totally fit the atmosphere. Though we all shared 3 pizzas, my favorite was the bee sting. Spicy pepperoni and HONEY!! SOOO delish. I also got to try a duck meat prosciutto! That was amazing over bread. My taste buds are in for a rude awakening when I get back home. Chain restaurant city, baby. WAHHHH :( :( :(

I absolutely fell in love with NYC. I can't stress that enough. I will miss everything about it, (especially my overpriced salads). I even got John to admit that he could see us living here one day. (ONE) of our ultimate goals, (we have about 500) would be to have a house here and also one on the Cape. Who knows!! Hard work will pay off for us:) This city is electric. I cannot even believe this experience is almost over. This isn't my last post! But we are definitely getting there. Love you guys. Thank you for reading this whole summer. It absolutely makes me feel validated as a blogger. Wow, that was deep.

XOXOX

SC


bottom of page