top of page

Internship Swap @ The Knot, Internship Dinner and Day Off

Hello, Friends!! It's been a minute!! I feel like I haven't posted in forever! A LOT has been going on in my world. Let's get started!!

Starting with the most recent and then working backwards, our internship dinner was tonight. It was the goodbye dinner in a sense. We ate at La Mela. This restaurant, (specifically the private room we were in) was known back in the day as prime mobster territory. The Mafia would meet here regularly and make deals and "plans" in the back room where we ate because it is very secluded! How cool is that?! All the interns, plus the management and owner of Kleinfeld, were all in attendance. The best part? IT WAS FILMED FOR THE SHOW AND IT WILL BE FEATURED ON SAY YES TO THE DRESS!! I had to sign a release form. I got some camera time! It was incredible. I can't wait for next season. Seriously, so exciting. I made sure to, "eat like the Queen was watching".....Mom, you're welcome.....

The meal was incredible!! Ronnie, one of the owners of Kleinfeld, treated everyone to such an amazing meal! We started with unlimited red and white wine. Next came the salads, followed by friend calamari and some type of shrimp with Italian sauce on it, (that was a weak description, I know). Then, chicken parmagiane, penne a la vodka, and fedichinni alfredo. Dessert? Terimasue, (WOW I CAN'T SPELL ITALIAN DISHES AND I'M KEEPING THE TYPOS SO YOU CAN LAUGH AT MY PHONETIC SPELLING), Canolis, and some type of ice cream with fruit. What. A. Meal. What a time to be alive. It is actually really sad watching this summer come to an end. My days here are beyond numbered. I LOVE this city. I don't know financially that I could live here with the cost of living being so high, plus I love life in suburbia. However, I really did grow as a person by living here alone. I learned to embrace being uncomfortable, I learned to adapt, I leaned to navigate (sort of), and I really learned to be independent. I'm not ready for it to be over, however, my senior year of college is waiting for me. Beyond bitter sweet, but I am so glad I took this opportunity. I have BIG plans in the works, and I am excited to see how my future unfolds :)

If you remember from my last post, I stated that we were participating in an inter swap with The Knot interns! They came to us last Wednesday, and today we went to their headquarters! They are owned under the XO Group. The Kleinfeld interns had a really fun day! We learned a lot about what The Knot has to offer, the services they provide, and much more. We also went to a resume workshop, an interviewing workshop, and a Linked In workshop. It was very beneficial! After that, we enjoyed cocktails and wedding cake. After that, we headed to the internship dinner, (I'm backtracking). We really enjoyed ourselves. Their office is absolutely beautiful. I included pictures of their view. Stunning.

On my day off, (Monday) I really just did me! In the morning, I walked to the Hudson river and tanned! I also brought along a good book to read. It was so peaceful being alone, in the middle of NYC, right by the river, reading and soaking in sun. I truly felt like a local. After that, I walked over to the Chelsea Market, (I'm becoming a regular) and grabbed some lunch. After that? A quick workout, and then a shower and THEN the Bachelorette!! WHAT A PERFECT DAY!! The only thing better would be if my pups were in bed with me watching. Both of them. Man I miss them. :(

I also wanted to add that earlier in the week, my Kent sorority sisters and I went to Black Tap Burgers and Fries for some AMAZING milkshakes. I'm sure you have seen them social media. Check out the pictures of these things. In the cotton candy one? Two sticks of rock candy, a lollipop, cotton candy, icing, and chocolate candy on the side. I didn't get one because I wasn't hungry, but I did sample my friend's!! YUM.

Kleinfeld is good! I'm going to miss my favorite consultants. I love them all in their own ways. Of course we all have our favorites. However, when you're with these people everyday, they become like family. Speaking of which, I miss mine. John switched his dates and is now coming July 29! Counting down the days. I have so much I want to do with him, and so many things I want him to try! I wish I could make it back to the cape one more time as well.

Two new exciting things to share as well!! 1.) I'm seeing Jimmy Fallon next Wednesday at 2 for his monologue rehearsal...... OMG and 2.) An amazing lady at Columbus Wedding Magazine caught wind of this blog and is offering me the opportunity to write an article for the magazine about being a Kleinfeld intern!! SO MUCH EXCITEMENT!! I will give you all more details about the article and where you can purchase the magazine.

Alright folks. As always, my love for you is tremendous. Couldn't do this without my amazing support system.

XOXOX

SC


bottom of page