top of page

Mom Makes A Visit

A happy / sad post today!! Happy because I was with my Mom this morning. Sad because she's no longer here :( WAHHHHH. However, I had such a fun time frolicking...yes frolicking around the city with my best friend. So what exactly did Lynn and Skyler do?

Mom came into town on horseback on a dark and stormy night, (not really, but it sounds way better). The night she came into town, we hit up the Chelsea Market, went to Times Square and then saw the Broadway show, "Something Rotten". It was AMAZING. I swear I have never seen a show I didn't love. I'm not going to explain the plot because I went into the showing not knowing what it was about, and I think that made it better! It was a HILARIOUS comedy musical, with many theatrical references. A little risqué for the younger audience, but it was GOLD. A must see for any theater lover. My Mom and I also got to see it the last night with the same cast. The next day, new people were coming in. Amazing experience. We also did our normal Mother/Daughter shopping, and Forever 21 is an outstanding tradition between us. We have to go there no matter where we are.

I also got to show my Mom around Kleinfeld. It was such an awesome feeling showing her everything in person that I describe over the phone. She was able to put faces to names, check out all the amazing dresses, see my daily grind, and had special access to the restricted sections to the public, (let's just say she KNOWS people). I already told her she is 1000% in charge of picking out my wedding dress. Growing up, my Mom was ALWAYS the one during Homecoming/Prom dress shopping who said:

Mom: "Honey, you HAVE to try this on."

Me: "Ew....no way!"

~-20 minutes later-~

Me: "Thanks for finding my dress."

Needless to say, her eye for a classy, elegant, posh and stunning outfit is a sharp one. What would I do without her?

On Wednesday, I was supposed to have an off day. However, from 12-4, The Knot interns came to Kleinfeld! We did an internship swap with them. We get to go to their home office on the 20th! The Knot is a wedding planning one stop shop! According to their website,"...Everything you need to plan your wedding, literally! Wedding dresses, planning tools, wedding ideas, inspiration, photos, plus the best wedding vendors." We were each paired with an intern from the Knot, and we acted like the bridal consultant, and dressed the intern as if they were shopping for a dress. It was a lot of fun!! We also got a spread of amazing treats! We got homemade apple strudel, cannoli's imported that morning from Sicily, Italy, and then a HUGE cannoli lemon cake made with the same cannoli cream from lamb's milk. It was to DIE for!!

After the intern exchange, my Mom and I went to a place called Eataly!! Eataly was magical. It was an Italian's paradise. It was a market filled with fresh Italian food, mixed in with restaurants. For example, they sold fresh baked bread, pasta, and pizza, while the fresh fruit and vegetables were also up for purchase. There were a couple sit down places to eat as well within the complex. We sampled prosciutto and provolone bread. One of the best things ever. I'm going to get a loaf sometime this weekend... lol yes I said loaf. For lunch, my Mom and I had a huge slice of eggplant pizza. Can you say H-E-A-V-E-N?!? If any of you know my Uncle, he would have LOVED this place....as would my Boyfriend's Mom, Suzanne!

Today at Kleinfeld, we started shooting, "Say Yes To The Dress"!! I met Randy!! Between the regular appointments in the salon, the camera crew, the BURNING, hot lights, and the chatter of everyone, it is a totally different atmosphere. It was like the store transformed. I was SO cool seeing Randy conduct the show, just as he does on tv! Only this time, it was literally right in front of me. I don't think I got on TV today, however the camera crew is supposed to be filming our internship dinner taking place after we go to The Knot! It's tradition that the owner of Kleinfeld takes us interns to dinner to thank us for an amazing summer! I'm excited for....wait for it.....the food. The camera is just a bonus :) But I like that too!

We laughed, told stories, and made memories that will last forever. I'm so blessed I have such an amazing Mom! I am BLESSED beyond words she came!! I'm missing home, and I was glad she was able to bring home to NYC for 4 amazing days!! My next visitor? JOHN!! He comes July, 24! Change of dates, but he is coming soon! After him?! The whole Wentz clan is coming for a few days, and then we start the trek home! I can't believe this journey is nearing the end!

Without fail, when I got home from work and Mom had left, I saw a present and note left from her on my pillow. I am blessed with the best.

XOXOX

SC


bottom of page