top of page

The 4th of July and Washington DC

Hi, Friends!! For the 4th, I made my way to Washington DC to spend time with my best friend from 2nd grade, Karly!! She is currently interning in DC at a charter like summer school for children with learning disabilities! I hands down wouldn't want to spend the 4th of July anywhere else than DC!! I was bleeding patriotic pride. It was an amazing feeling being surround by so much love for our amazing country. But I am getting ahead of myself...

I got into the city by way of the Peter Pan bus. The trip went well, and it dropped me off at Union Station where Karly was waiting for me. Our reunion was just as expected. We miss each other so much when we are apart. After catching up and grabbing tacos for dinner and exploring the Lincoln/Washington Monuments, we ended up going to the bar together with her DC roommates and 1 of my sorority sisters, Keri! We danced till 3 am! I am not usually one to party long hours at the bar, but something about being reunited with Karly made it so much fun. I am seriously the most elderly college kid. But let's carry on with the story...

The next day, we did Georgetown! I would live there in a heartbeat. It is the perfect size place to live- with so much history to boot. We went into a bunch of stores, ate my first macaroon, toured the oldest house in DC and walked around together. Though it rained the whole day, we made the best day out of it because we were together. After Georgetown, we took the metro to the Smithsonian (American History). Though I have been there before, I am fascinated by the First Lady's dresses, THE ruby slippers, and other amazing American artifacts. I attached some pictures. DC has so much to offer. I love history and Presidents. They fascinate me.

For the 4th, it POURED in DC. Not like spitting rain....down pouring rain. We stayed in for most of the morning and watched a movie. For the 4th, for $20, we got into a rooftop bar, got free food and drinks, and (theoretically) had a really nice view of the fireworks. However, since it was pouring all day and the air was beyond humid, the sky had so much fog. The combination of the fog, cloudy sky and not being high enough made our firework experience a sad one. I planned to work July 5 (which is today) at 10 am, and I thought the fireworks would be second to none in DC, so I decided to take a bus back into NY this morning at 2am. This is where the story really begins...

No...I repeat...NO firework display is worth taking a greyhound at 2am. I'm serious. It was the bus ride from *%$#@!!!. Instead of me rewriting how it all went down, I included some of my complaint letter to Greyhound to help explain what happened. LOL enjoy me being politely disgruntled.

Long story short, I purchased a ticket to NY from DC for a 2 am bus ride (because of those damn spectacular fireworks that didn't happen). I arrived at Union Station a half hour early. The man in charge split the middle of the line, therefore putting a chunk of us in a new line, and letting the people behind us board the bus. They LEFT the station! People behind me in line were enroute to NY before me. The only reason I took the early time slot was because I had to work at 10 am, not because I enjoy being up at 3am. This was my first time with Greyhound, and I was beyond disappointed with the way I was treated and how I was over an HOUR not on my bus. The man in charge was extremely disrespectful, and said his job was to get us on the bus, not to "communicate" to the people. He is the one that split the line, but then said he didn't even notice the people behind us passed us in line. He said he was "so tired". I ended up getting on the bus at 3:15 am, got back into the city pushing 8am, and then had to get ready for work which started at 10am. It has been a CRAZY day. I'm pretty slaphappy at this point. I am excited for bed. Is that weird?

Today, I worked the front desk downstairs in alterations. THE LORD WAS LOOKING DOWN ON ME TODAY!! Being how tired I was, I got put in the best possible place. I sat at the front desk, and checked people into their appointments. It was such an easy day, and I 100% would have gotten sick if I ran around with the consultants today. I am glad I'm not totally run down! Tomorrow is going to be a half day! YAY!

However, I wouldn't trade my time spent with Karly for anything. We have so many laughs, my stomach hurt. I love her so much. We share such a special sister bond. Love you, Karl.

Well folks, if you ask me it's time for bed. Love you all. Enjoy my DC pictures :)

XOXOX

SC


bottom of page