top of page

Coney Island

So today, Kathryn and I ventured out 45 minutes by train to Coney Island!! We (Kathryn) have been itching to do a beach day, and we figured the weather wasn't super hot today, so we went for it! A fun fact about me: I hate the heat, being hot, sweating, humidity, sand, and feeling sticky. I literally wilt in the sun. Sometimes I even get sick from the sun. I also have always burned my entire life. The cooler the weather, the better. The high was 81 today, so I went for it.

The train ride there was so relaxing!! I dozed off both ways, (shocker). I could literally fall asleep in any circumstance, weather condition or the final minutes of Earth. Kathryn and I decided we should have brought a book because we really didn't anticipate a 45 minute subway ride. However, it was a great experience. I have tried to avoid the subway purposefully with all the craziness that goes on in the world. I feel walking is by far the safest option for my location and proximity to work!

Walking into Coney Island, we passed a place where there were a bunch of beautiful, hand-painted wall murals to take pictures in front of. Kathryn and I had the best time playing around with all the different backdrops. New York is like a playground for photo opps. I love it :) I attached some of the pictures we took below!

Coney Island is...ermm.....run down, (to say the least). The area around the park is very, very old and depressed. However, you can definitely see back in the day where it had potential to be super bossy. There are so many beautiful memories there for the older crowd that grew up a local to Coney Island. I talked to an old lady (because I truly believe I am one) who went on her first date to Coney Island, and has been married to him for 50 + years!! It was adorable. However, this Ohio girl selfishly compares it to Cedar Point and Kings Island, so it was a little...different. I thought it was a full blown amusement park like Cedar Point. Lol NOPE. It's part beach, part boardwalk and part dining. It was a great place to spend the day for sure! We tanned on the beach until the wind made the sand unbearable. I'm talking a full blown sand storm. I have never seen such intense sand blowing at me. It was stinging my legs!! That was enough for me (considering I don't particularly love the beach in the first place, mainly because of the sand). A lot of my pictures might look blurry, but it is all the sand! After we left the beach, we grabbed lunch and a margarita. I got a black bean burger and a mango margarita for the low price of $25. Welcome to NY people. :(

As we walked down the boardwalk, we noticed a sign for the New York Aquarium. We decided to tour it and look around. I am SO glad we went!! We made it just in time for the final sea lion show of the day!! What an adorable group of animals, (and SO smart)!! We also saw a plethora of salt water/freshwater fish, penguins (WOOP WOOP), and sharks!! I'm not a huge fan of zoos and Sea World, but this place gives back to the environment, helps nurse animals in rehab back to health, and demonstrates their mission to save endangered species. They were on the up and up, and I appreciate that. I am so passionate about animals and saving them.

Kleinfeld update: This past Friday, I forgot to mention, my consultant sold 5/5 dresses for 5/5 appointments!! Judith is a veteran of Kleinfeld, and her 30 years experience are evident. I couldn't believe we made 5 bride's dreams come true back to back to back. It was an amazing experience. We also delt with a wide range of budgets, body types, and styles. Tomorrow is a week day, which means we will be on the rotation of front desk, stock, marketing, etc. I'm not sure where I will be!

Well, it's "bedtime for Bonzo" as Mom would say. Speaking of which, I got an amazing package from my Mumma in the mail today. Missing her everyday. I hope everyone has an amazing week. Rise and grind everyday!! P.S. I didn't get a famous Coney Dog from Nathan's, and I'm still super upset about it.

XOXOX

SC


bottom of page