top of page

Union Square Market, Chelsea Market and the Freedom Tower

What a busy day we had Monday!! Kathryn and I wasted no time hitting the streets on our day off!! I read online that there is a market with tons of fresh fruits and veggies located in Union Square. Union Square is beautiful little park that is perfect for eating lunch and/or taking a walk. There are lots of shady places to relax. We decided to walk and check it out! Upon arriving, I immediately saw tons of fresh flowers, produce, veggies, soaps, and other random things like frozen duck liver..... ew. It was totally up my alley. Even though I didn't need or buy anything, I still wanted to see the chaos of the venders, the fresh produce waiting to be purchased, and the hustle of the market. I love stuff like that. Seeing couples and their pooches buying their fresh groceries made me really miss John and Ellie. Oh how I wish they could experience some of these places with me. For now, they experience it via my blog...(at least John does...Ellie can't because she doesn't have thumbs) :)

After the market, we decided to go to Chelsea market (I have blogged about this place before). I felt the first time I went, I quickly walked through it and didn't have time to really explore. I fell in love with it even more the second time (if that's even possible). For lunch, I got an AMAZING slice of pizza. It had fresh Prosciutto, cherry tomatoes, mozzarella, and arugula. It was absolutely amazing. There are so many options in terms of places to eat in Chelsea market. Kathryn got an amazing Italian sandwich, with Italian meats, olive spread, and cheese. All so delicious. All so reasonably priced. We then walked around the shops inside the market and saw some amazing handmade jewelry. I'm talking unique. For example, this artist took an old license plate, cut it so it was only showing the letter "S", and then bent it into a bracelet. Another artist took keys off of an old typewriter (brighter lol Mom) and then turned those into necklaces and rings. I cannot wait to bring my Mom here. From the homemade soaps, to the homemade, unique jewelry, it's right up our alley.

From here, we walked to the Freedom Tower by way of the Hudson River. The river is beautiful. I have yet to see a bad view of the city. Funny story. As we were walking to the tower, there was an inflatable, rubber dolphin floatie in the water. The joke was, "Hey Kathryn, look at the dolphin in the Hudson." Hahah I attached a picture below. It caught us both off guard majorly.

The Freedom Tower was just as I had remembered it the last time I visited in 2012. Visiting there gives one a strange balance of sadness and sorrow mixed with beauty, hope and remembrance. I remember asking my Mom, "Why would they build a new tower bigger than the pervious others? Isn't that a liability?" I remember her telling me, "Strength is the foundation America was built upon. If you knock us down, we will come back bigger, stronger and mightier than before." Hearing those words in my head while looking up at the tower sent chills up my spine. It is so true. You can fill our country will fear and terror, but we will not falter to terrorism. My heart goes out to the families still suffering today, and the firefighter's losing their battles with illnesses caused by their clean up efforts. It's humbling. I love my country. The north and south pools are absolutely beautiful. Water falls from the upper wall into the lower basin like tears. I'm really glad I went back. I encourage everyone to check it out if you've never been before. Researches say my age group is the youngest group to remember that day (those in 1st grade when it happened). I'll never forget being 7 years old and being beyond confused. 9/11/01 never forgotten <3

On a happier note, after that, Kathryn and I got dinner at this Mexican restaurant in Soho! We also had a margarita....or two :) Mango margaritas are heaven sent by the way. After that, we parted ways. What a terrific Monday.

I haven't said too much about working at Kleinfeld!! I'm too busy taking about the food I'm consuming lol. Everything is going perfectly! Some brides are difficult, (AKA they have been to 15 other bridal shops and they've seen almost everything, so what in God's name are you supposed to pull for them to try on)? Some brides are a little harsh when they don't like a dress, (AKA: "GET THIS OFF OF ME!!"). Easy, 'Mam. Some brides get really hot and worked up...not to mention our air broke, and we were without air for almost 2 days. Some brides want long sleeves, with slight beading, no lace, a fit and flare style with organza material...and that's EXACTLY what they want. I smile and nod, shut the door, look at my consultant, and then laugh. Some brides have the most amazing rings I have ever seen. I have noticed that the round shape is in. A lot of people have round/circle diamonds. Some brides also have BEAUTIFUL venues. Example: Getting married in an Italian castle in Italy. Casual. Can I come? I also ALWAYS ask how the bride met the groom, and how he proposed. It ranges from middle school to Christian Mingle. There are also lots of beach proposals. "We climbed to the top of a mountain". "We went to our old college campus". "We were at dinner". "We were on vacation together". Nothing crazy, extravagant....yet. I love it. I love love. LOL I love my job. Also, unlimited budgets rock. So many options. When your budget is unlimited, the world is our oyster when picking out dresses for you. Those are the best. I've had a few.

The Pnina trunk show is over :( Working with her was amazing. However, I am excited to meet some new designers. Tomorrow, another day off. I already have plans on how I'm going to spend the day. I'm so excited!! What will Miss Chill do next?!

XOXOX

SC


bottom of page