top of page

Dinner with the Porter's and The High Line

It's been a few days, but I'm back and ready to write! Thursday night, some dear family friends that live in my hometown (the Porter family), were visiting NYC, and were kind enough to take me out to dinner! Growing up, I did theater with Lucy and Sadie (Sadie is going to be a junior at my old high school (go cards), and Lucy going into her freshman year at Wake Forest (go deacs). It was SO nice seeing some familiar faces in this crazy, stranger-filled city. I loved talking about Worthington, and all of the wonderful things I miss about home, (driving my car and my family/dog at the top of my list). We ate at a restaurant called Trattoria Zero Otto Nove (I know, fancy). This place was incredible! I'm BEYOND bummed that my phone died and I could not take a picture of my meal! I got this AMAZING dish of pasta, only it was cooked in tin foil! So when my meal was ready, the waiter brought out what looked like a wrapped Chipotle burrito. He carefully peeled away the foil, and exposed a lump of pasta with fresh cherry tomatoes and mushrooms. The sauce was like a red wine sauce. It was simply amazing. I finished it off with a well deserved glass of wine. For dessert? Nutella PIZZA!! Yes people...NUTELLA PIZZA EXISTS. On top of crispy pizza dough, nutella was spread out with what looked like powdered sugar sprinkled atop for the "cheese". Such an amazing night spent with amazing people. After a trip to the incredible NYC Marshalls to close the night, we said our goodbyes. Until we meet up again in the Big Apple. Blessed I have so many quality, positive people in my life~

Last night, (Friday) my Kent friends and my new Kleinfeld friend ate at a pub called O'Rileys! We went here because we all wanted to check out a rooftop bar, but of course, this one was jam packed. So we ended up eating downstairs with everyone else who couldn't fit upstairs. I got a delicious buffalo chicken salad (expect SUPER spicy). I absolutely LOVE hanging out with my Kent sorority sisters, yet also hanging out with my new pal, Kathryn! The balance makes me so happy, and the conversation could have gone on for hours. However, we had something else planned that required us to actually stop talking for .5 seconds and leave the place.

After dinner, we walked the high line! If you aren't familiar, let me fill you in. (Nerd alert): According to Wikipedia, "The High Line is a 1.45-mile-long New York City linear park built in Manhattan on an elevated section of a disused New York Central Railroad spur called the West Side Line." So ultimately, you are walking above the streets and looking down and over the BEAUTIFUL city of Manhattan. Planted alongside the high line are beautiful, fragrant flowers and gorgeous landscaping. The best part? You pass all of the STUNNING pent houses people live in. Not to sound like a total creeper, but a lot of the pent houses are eye level with the high light, so you can see right in people's homes! All the windows are glass, and I kind of found it uncomfortable that I could see into a little girl's room (weird). However, I got to see some KILLER living rooms, fireplaces, dining areas, and kitchens that were eye level on the high line. Again, it was weird everything was glass and you could see people coexisting in their homes, but nonetheless, these places rocked. God only knows how much the places cost. I took some pictures of some lady's living room (I knew you would want to see too, Mom). I am indeed laughing out loud :)

Another amazing thing about the high line is the traffic alcoves. There were a few places were a glass-like alcove is built, and you can literally hover over the road and watch the traffic underneath you (I took pictures...they will be below). There are bleachers so you can sit and watch! It was SO COOL. It was like nothing I had ever seen before. It was so beautiful at night/sunset. I think people underestimate how many free activities there are in this city! Walking the high line was perfect for a summer on a budget! We got to see so much scenery. We also walked to the Chelsea Market via the high line, and I got the best peach gelato I have ever tasted. It was literally like biting into a peach. It wasn't the fake, sugary, peach taste either. It tasted so real it was scary. A MUST HAVE WHEN IN THE CITY!! (I took a picture of that too..shocker).

Well, that's all for now. My next off day is Monday. I'm looking forward to it. My feet/shoe choice was very poor today, and I am paying for it as we speak. Are throbbing feet normal almost 4 hours post work? Ya, I didn't think so either. Nonetheless, I work tomorrow 9:15- 6-6:30! TGI...S? Hope everyone had an amazing weekend.

XOXOX

SC


bottom of page