top of page

Jersey Boys

OF COURSE it would rain on my day off. When it rains in the city, and you leave your Hunter boots at home, and walking is your main method of transportation, coming up with things to do indoors in the city is essential. Kathryn and I decided to see a show! I couldn't think of a better way to spend a rainy day than with my friend and the theater!! Since it was pouring, Kathryn and I hailed a taxi, and headed over to the August Wilson theater on 52nd. Another intern (Nick) had suggested that we see Jersey Boys (this was his third time seeing it). So with that, Nick, Kathryn, 2 other interns, and I all decided to head to the show.

THE SHOW WAS AMAZING! Anything following the life of 4 Italian young men immediately has my full attention (homage to my roots WOOP WOOP). From the plot, to the vocal and dance moves, I loved everything about this show. I previously had thought this was a family show. NOT THE CASE!! The first "F Bomb" was my indication that you might want to leave the little ones at home! Basically, the show goes through the formation of the singing group, "The Four Seasons". Frankie Valli was truly an amazing man. The formation and journey of the band was so complicated. I LOVE musicals and plays that depict true stories. I also didn't know how many of the songs I love are "Four Seasons" songs! My music expertise is in the 80's genre....seriously. I'm an expert. I LOVE the 80's (I would have been a teen there in my past life). I was surprised how many songs I am familiar with came from Frankie Valli. I also had NO idea that the theme song from one of my favorite movies was sang by Frankie Valli. Do you know what it is? Think, think!!!! It's Grease! (I too would have been a Pink Lady in my past life).

This show isn't just about Frankie though. It also follows the lives of the other members of the band, (Tommy DeVito (one good looking man, WOW), Nick Massi and Bob Gaudio). We got the student price of $32 and were seated in row Y...out of Z. LOL. Sorry Mom, but the group of us moved up into super, bossy close seating when we saw they weren't filled. Truth be told, we probably sat in the $75-80 seats. Sorry not sorry. I'm selfish when it comes to my theater experience!!! "You're just too good to be true. I can't take my eyes off of you."

After the show, we ate at a little mediocre diner that gave me a panini with ham that tasted like rubber. No pictures to come because it was not that good hahah. That made me laugh out loud. I swear I blog with a smile on my face. Currently, I am listening to the Four Season's hits on a loop...and LOVING it! Enjoy some pictures I took at the show. I recommend this to each and every person who loves classic music from the past! Too bad today's music doesn't even come close to touching the talent of our past time. I love how you can sing aloud when listening to music from the Four Seasons. That sadly isn't the case with today's explicit, sexualized music, (yet I listen to it and love it, so I really shouldn't complain). I appreciate and love all types of music. Because it took a vision, a melody and a journey to be made into something catchy and worth listening to.

Tomorrow starts the workweek for us at Kleinfeld. I am still absolutely loving it. Lots of work, yet so rewarding when a bride finds her dream dress. I get goosebumps every time someone says yes. It makes my heart happy. Hope your week is winding up well, as mine is just getting started.

"Who loves you pretty baby? Who's gonna help you through the night? Who loves you pretty mama? Who's always there to make it right?"

XOXOX

SC


bottom of page